In the past, appeals over social security funding—such as EI, CPP and OAS—were divided between four separate tribunals.

Budget 2013 has simplified the appeal process, however, by creating a new, single Social Security Tribunal, says Diane Finley, minister of human resources and skills development.

From now on, Canadians only have to deal with one decision-making body when launching appeals. They’ll also deal with less red tape.

“The Social Security Tribunal will…ensure it remains fair and accessible,” said Finley.

To date, 34 members have been appointed to the SST from across the country.

It will take a year to transfer all appeals to the SST. During this time, the new tribunal will hear all new appeals and the four former tribunals will finalize cases already being processed.

As of April 1, 2013, all appeals for EI, CPP and OAS must be submitted to the SST.


Little for seniors in Budget 2013

Canada vs. the U.S.: Does our retirement funding stack up?

Are you getting RRIF’d off? (2010), for more on how retirement reforms were impacting clients and advisors in the past couple years

Originally published on

Add a comment

You must be logged in to comment.

Register on