The European Union has put 17 countries on a blacklist of those it deems guilty of unfairly offering tax avoidance schemes.

EU Vice-President Valdis Dombrovskis said after Tuesday’s meeting of the bloc’s finance ministers that beyond the 17, some 40 more were put on a “grey-list” to be kept a close eye on.

The EU says those blacklisted had refused to co-operate and change their way after almost one year of dialogue.

Read: CRA expands tax help for small business

The full list was not immediately published.

The issue resurfaced earlier this year when reports dubbed Paradise Papers showed how the rich and famous stash their wealth in shell companies in small nations to avoid paying taxes at home.

Higher-tax countries like France have pushed for the blacklist and a Europe-wide crackdown on tax havens. Lower-tax countries like Ireland and the Netherlands argue that will hurt Europe’s competitiveness.

Originally published on
Add a comment

Have your say on this topic! Comments are moderated and may be edited or removed by
site admin as per our Comment Policy. Thanks!