AIMA announces new board

By Staff | September 2, 2014 | Last updated on September 2, 2014
1 min read

AIMA Canada has announced a new board for 2014 to 2016. Michael Burns assumes the role of chair, succeeding Gary Ostoich, a founding member of AIMA Canada who has served as chair since 2009.

Read: Update on global regulatory initiatives

The following members have been elected to the board for two year terms, effective September 1, 2014:

  • chair: Michael Burns, partner, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
  • deputy chair: Paul Patterson, vice president, Private Investment, Integrated Asset Management (IAM) Group
  • legal counsel: Tim Baron, partner, Davies Ward Phillips and Vineberg LLP
  • treasurer: Derek Hatoum, partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Read: OSC approves Kingship Capital deal

Additional board members include:
Claude Perron, chairman, Crystalline Management Inc.
; Claire Van Wyk, manager, sales support, Advisor Channel Sales, RBC Global Asset Management; and 
James Burron, COO, AIMA Canada.

Michael Burns and Paul Patterson will also act as directors of AIMA Canada for a term of two years. staff


The staff of have been covering news for financial advisors since 1998.