Gov’t announces members of new financial literacy committee

By Staff | July 31, 2014 | Last updated on July 31, 2014
1 min read

Members of the newly formed National Steering Committee on Financial Literacy were announced yesterday in Toronto:

  • Camille Beaudoin, Autorité des marchés financiers
  • Leslie Byrnes, Canadian Life & Health Insurance Association
  • Laurie Campbell, Credit Canada Debt Solutions
  • Terry Campbell, Canadian Bankers Association

Read: Why to educate clients about markets

  • Shelley Clayton, University of New Brunswick Financial Aid Office
  • Mary Condon, Ontario Securities Commission
  • Pat Foran, CTV News
  • Suzanne Gendron, Mouvement Desjardins
  • Terry Goodtrack, Aboriginal Financial Officers Association of Canada
  • Kelley Keehn, Financial author
  • Cary List, Financial Planning Standards Council
  • Elizabeth Mulholland, Prosper Canada
  • Andrew Nicholson, Financial and Consumer Services Commission of New Brunswick
  • Gary Rabbior, Canadian Foundation for Economic Education
  • Cairine Wilson, Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada

Their responsibilities include:

  • providing advice and insight on issues related to financial literacy to the financial literacy leader
  • acting as champions by promoting a national strategy to stakeholders and encouraging participation in its development

Read: Low financial literacy plagues millennials

  • facilitating coordination and collaboration to initiate financial literacy programs and activities that align with the national strategy’s goals and priorities, and securing commitments from organizations within their sectors
  • participating actively by implementing projects or activities within their organizations that contribute to the goals of the national strategy, and
  • monitoring progress and reporting to the leader on the progress of their respective sectors in moving the national strategy forward.

Read: Seniors say they know it all when it comes to finance staff


The staff of have been covering news for financial advisors since 1998.