IIAC has new board chair and vice chair, unveils 2015-16 priorities

By Staff | June 15, 2015 | Last updated on June 15, 2015
2 min read

Greg Woynarski, managing director and Global Head of Origination, Scotiabank Global Banking and Markets, Scotia Capital Inc., was elected the 2015-2016 chair of the board of directors of the Investment Industry Association of Canada (IIAC) at its Annual General Meeting in Toronto on June 10, 2015.

Read: “Epic collapse” of VC markets can be reversed: IIAC

At the Annual General Meeting, Ian Russell, IIAC president and CEO, outlined the organization’s top priorities for the year ahead. They include: commenting on new draft regulations for the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System (CCMRS); engaging key stakeholders in roundtable discussions to diagnose what ails the TSX Venture Exchange and identify solutions; assisting regulators to finalize the rules framework for financial advisors; working with regulators to improve the transparency regime of traded debt securities; and helping firms develop best practices and tools to defend against cyber threats.

Here is a complete list of the 2015-16 IIAC board of directors:

Chair: Greg Woynarski Managing Director, GBM Strategy Office Scotiabank Global Banking and Markets Scotia Capital Inc.

Vice Chair: John Chambers Chief Executive Officer FirstEnergy Capital Corp.

Board Members: Sandy Cimoroni Senior Vice President & Chief Operating Officer TD Wealth Mario Frankovich CEO, Chairman and UDP Burgeonvest Bick Securities Limited

Charyl Galpin EVP & Managing Director, Head, Private Client Division BMO Nesbitt Burns Inc.

Monique Gravel Managing Director and Head CIBC Wood Gundy

Terry Hetherington Executive Vice President and Head of the Private Client Group Raymond James Ltd.

Jeff Kennedy Managing Director, Equity Capital Markets and Operations Cormark Securities Inc.

David Lang Co-Head, Global Capital Markets and I&TS Compliance RBC Dominion Securities Inc.

Sylvain Perreault Chef de la conformité / Chief Compliance Officer Mouvement Desjardins / Desjardins Group

Stuart R. Raftus President Canaccord Genuity Wealth Management

Ian Russell President and CEO Investment Industry Association of Canada (IIAC)

Charlie Spiring Vice Chairman & Member, Executive Committee National Bank Financial Wealth Management

Deborah Starkman Chief Financial Officer and Secretary GMP Capital Inc.

Also read:

Technology key to industry’s future: IIAC

IIROC proposes changes to market integrity rules

Advisor.ca staff


The staff of Advisor.ca have been covering news for financial advisors since 1998.