Revenue minister names new Taxpayers’ Ombudsperson

By Rudy Mezzetta | October 1, 2020 | Last updated on October 1, 2020
1 min read

Minister of National Revenue Diane Lebouthillier has named François Boileau as the new Taxpayers’ Ombudsperson, the Canada Revenue Agency said in a release on Thursday.

The CRA also announced that the title of the position has been changed from Taxpayers’ Ombudsman to Taxpayers’ Ombudsperson, effective immediately.

Boileau begins in the role on Oct. 5 and will be the third person to hold the position. He replaces Sherra Profit, who served as Taxpayers’ Ombudsman since 2015. J. Paul Dubé was appointed the first Taxpayers’ Ombudsman in 2008.

The Office of the Taxpayers’ Ombudsperson upholds taxpayers’ service rights as outlined in the Taxpayer Bill of Rights and reviews complaints from taxpayers to ensure a fair resolution.

Boileau holds a bachelor of civil law from the University of Ottawa and a bachelor’s degree in political science from the Université de Montréal, and is the former French Language Services Commissioner of Ontario.

Rudy Mezzetta headshot

Rudy Mezzetta

Rudy is a senior reporter for and its sister publication, Investment Executive. He has been reporting on tax, estate planning, industry news and more since 2005. Reach him at