The federal government has named the 10 board members who will steer the new Canada Infrastructure Bank.

The arm’s-length corporation based in Toronto will be responsible for financing large infrastructure projects across the country, leveraging $35 billion in government funding. Former RBC executive Janice Fukakusa is chair of the board and will lead the search for a CEO.

The 10 board members are:

  • Kimberly Baird, founder of Kim Baird Strategic Consulting and former elected chief and strategic initiatives director of the self-governing Tsawwassen First Nation
  • Jane Bird, senior business advisor with the Vancouver office of Bennett Jones LLP
  • Dave Bronconnier, president and CEO of Interloq Capital Inc. and former mayor of Calgary
  • James Cherry, former president and CEO of Aéroports de Montréal
  • Michèle Colpron, who serves on the boards of the Fonds de solidarité FTQ, the Professional Insurance Liability Fund of the Barreau of Quebec and IIROC
  • Bruno Guilmette, president of the Plan A Capital Advisory Committee
  • Christopher Hickman, chairman and CEO of Marco Group of Companies
  • Poonam Puri, professor of business law at Osgoode Hall Law School in Toronto and a practising lawyer and affiliated scholar at Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP
  • Stephen Smith, co-founder, chair and CEO of First National Financial LP
  • Patricia Youzwa, former president and CEO of SaskPower and current chair of the pooled funds advisory committee for Greystone Managed Investments

Read: The good, the bad and the tepid: Reaction to the federal budget

Read: Digging deeper into Trudeau’s infrastructure plan