IIROC elects board of directors

By Staff | September 26, 2018 | Last updated on September 26, 2018
1 min read
Business man making a presentation at office. Business executive delivering a presentation to his colleagues during meeting or in-house business training, explaining business plans to his employees.
© kasto / 123RF Stock Photo

IIROC has elected its board of directors for 2018-19.

At the annual general meeting on Sept. 25, two new directors were elected and seven serving directors were re-elected to serve on IIROC’s board, says a release.

The two new directors, who will serve a two-year term, are Jos Schmitt (marketplace director) and Lucie Tedesco (independent director). Tedesco is commissioner of the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada, and Schmitt is a founder, and president and CEO of Aequitas NEO.

They replace Thomas Wittman and Marianne Harris, who have left the board.

The seven directors re-elected to serve for two-year terms are:

  • Paul Allison (dealer director), chairman and CEO, Raymond James Ltd.
  • Jean-Paul Bachellerie (dealer director), president and COO, PI Financial Corp.
  • James Donegan (independent director), co-founder and managing partner, AGAWA Partners
  • Edward Iacobucci (independent director), dean, faculty of law, University of Toronto
  • Gerry O’Mahoney (independent director), principal and founder, Tralee Capital Markets
  • Luc Paiement (dealer director), executive advisor to the president and CEO, National Bank of Canada
  • Catherine Smith (independent director), corporate director

The board appointed Allison as its new chair and Smith as vice-chair.

An additional five directors continue to serve the second year of their two-year terms.

In total, the board comprises 15 directors, including IIROC’s president and CEO, Andrew Kriegler. Seven directors are independent and seven are industry directors. Two of the industry directors represent markets, and five represent IIROC-regulated firms of various sizes and business models across Canada.

Advisor.ca staff


The staff of Advisor.ca have been covering news for financial advisors since 1998.