Provincial regulators sign MOU with CFTC

By Staff | April 3, 2014 | Last updated on April 3, 2014
1 min read

The Alberta Securities Commission (ASC), the British Columbia Securities Commission (BCSC), the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC), and the Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) have entered into a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the U.S Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) aimed at enhancing the cross-border supervision of firms that operate in both countries.

Read: Be proactive to prevent fraud, says CSA

The MOU will facilitate the exchange of information between the regulators in the supervision and oversight of regulated entities that operate on a cross-border basis. The scope of the MOU includes markets and organized trading platforms, central counterparties, trade repositories, and intermediaries, dealers, and other market participants.

Through the MOU, the regulators intend to cooperate in the derivatives and/or securities markets, particularly in the areas of: protecting investors and customers; fostering the integrity of and maintaining confidence in financial markets; and reducing systemic risk.

Also read:

OSC sent more to jail in 2013

MFDA fines reach almost $11 million in 2013 staff


The staff of have been covering news for financial advisors since 1998.