IIROC nominates three new independent directors

By Staff | May 28, 2020 | Last updated on May 28, 2020
1 min read
© erhui1979 / iStockphoto

The Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC) has nominated three candidates to fill independent director positions that are opening on its board.

The self-regulatory organization’s board selected Malcolm Heins, Jennifer Newman and Laura Tamblyn Watts for the roles at a meeting on Wednesday. The nominations are subject to a formal election at IIROC’s annual meeting in September.

Tamblyn Watts, a lawyer and advocate for seniors and vulnerable investors, is president and CEO of policy group CanAge. She’s a member of the Ontario Securities Commission’s (OSC) seniors task force and the former chief public policy officer for CARP.

Heins, a lawyer and insurance industry veteran, served as CEO of the Law Society of Ontario before retiring in 2012. He’s also a member of the OSC’s investor advisory panel.

Newman is the senior managing director for real estate operations at the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan.

The new directors will replace Edward Iacobucci, James Donegan and Catherine Smith, whose terms are ending.

Advisor.ca staff


The staff of Advisor.ca have been covering news for financial advisors since 1998.